INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Women’s Golf Committee announced 19 teams and six individuals that will participate in the 2012 Division III Women’s Golf Championships.

Eleven conferences were given automatic qualification and the remaining eight teams were selected on an at-large basis from conferences and the remaining independent schools. Six individuals, not from selected teams, also were selected for the championships.

The championships consist of both team and individual competition conducted concurrently. The tournament will be contested across 72 holes of play during four days of competition. In the team competition, the low four scores from each team for each day will count in the team’s total score.

The selections include: 

School School
Allegheny Mary Hardin-Baylor
Baldwin-Wallace Methodist
Carroll (Wis.) St. Olaf
Centre St. Mary’s (Ind.)
Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Washington-St. Louis
DePauw Whitman
Franklin Wisconsin-Eau Claire
George Fox Williams
Gustavus Adolphus Wartburg
Illinois Wesleyan  
Individual, School Individual, School
Flora Weeks, Middlebury Mary Welch, Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Mary Snode, Mount Union Danica Weddle, Texas-Tyler
Emily Guthrie, Whitworth Sarah Paulson, Central (Iowa)

The championships will be conducted May 8-11 at Zollner Golf Course in Angola, Ind., with Trine serving as host.

In 2011, Methodist won its 14th consecutive and 24th overall Division III Women's Golf Championships with a combined score of 966 at the Mission Inn Resort in Howey-in-the-Hills, Fla. The Monarchs have won the championship in 24 of the tournament’s 26 years. Runner-up honors went to Gustavus Adolphus (978), and Illinois Wesleyan finished third with a score of 991.

Paige Caldwell of Methodist earned medalist honors by edging Centre’s Emily Bachert by three shots in 2011.